Firm News

Fillmore Riley proudly sponsors the 2019 Robson Hall Negotiation Competition

Fillmore Riley LLP is proud to sponsor the Robson Hall Negotiation Competition for the tenth consecutive year.

“Fillmore Riley’s ongoing support of the competition, in providing both financial sponsorship and time volunteered by lawyers to judge the event, demonstrates the firm’s commitment to cultivating these skills in soon-to-be lawyers,” said Dr. Bruce Curran, Associate Dean at University of Manitoba’s Faculty of Law, who will oversee the competition. “All legal training is directed toward one goal—advocating for a client to achieve the best possible outcome. Negotiation is a key skill to achieve that outcome.”

The Fourteenth Annual Robson Hall Negotiation Competition, to be held on the evening of October 17, 2019, gives third-year students who were the best performers in the Legal Negotiation course, the opportunity to compete for the honour of representing Robson Hall in the Canadian National Negotiation Competition. It also gives first-year law students the opportunity to volunteer in the running of the tournament.

In teams of two, the students meet with another team representing the other side of a fictitious dispute or potential deal, with each side possessing confidential facts. This year the law students will attempt to negotiate the legal issues associated with the dissolution of a fictitious partnership between two lawyers. All this takes place while the teams are under the ever-watchful eyes of the judges who are scoring each team’s negotiation skills.

“Strong negotiation skills are critical to advancing the interests of one’s client, which is the hallmark of good lawyering,” said Delaney Vun, a partner of Fillmore Riley and the Chair of the Professional Recruitment Committee. “We are honoured to be a part of an event that helps students hone the skills they will need to practise law.”

Fillmore Riley’s lawyers have volunteered their time as judges for the competition from its inception. Fillmore Riley’s Delaney VunAnnika FriesenAri HansonRachel LoewenBrynne ThordarsonJessica IsaakKeith SendenDonald BakerRanish Raveendrabose,  Kelsey  Yakimoski, Jasmine Bissoon and Alex Favreau, will serve as judges.