News RSS

October 18, 2018

Fillmore Riley proudly sponsors the 2018 Robson Hall Negotiation Competition

Fillmore Riley LLP is proud to sponsor the Robson Hall Negotiation Competition for the ninth consecutive year.

“Fillmore Riley’s commitment to the competition demonstrates its understanding of the importance of negotiation skills in effectively representing clients as well as imparting these skills in nascent lawyers through its sponsorship of the annual Robson Hall Negotiation Competition,” said Dr. Bruce Curran, Associate Dean at University of Manitoba’s Faculty of Law, who will oversee the competition. “All legal training is directed toward one goal—solving a client’s problems. Negotiation is the primary tool to achieve that goal.”

The competition, to be held on the evening of October 18, 2018, gives the third-year students, who were the best performers in the Legal Negotiation course, the opportunity to compete in the Thirteenth Annual Robson Hall Negotiation Competition. It also gives first-year law students the opportunity to volunteer in the running of the tournament.

In teams of two, the students meet with a team representing the other side of a fictitious dispute or potential deal, with each side possessing confidential facts. This year the law students will attempt to negotiate the legal issues associated with the creation of a fictitious agreement between two technology companies for the development of specialized intellectual property for use in drones. All this takes place while the teams are under the ever-watchful eyes of the judges who are scoring each team’s negotiation skills.

“Having strong negotiation skills is the foundation of being a good lawyer,” said Wes Burrows, a partner of Fillmore Riley and the Chair of the Professional Recruitment Committee. “We are proud to sponsor an event that helps law students develop the skills they will need to succeed as practising lawyers.”

Fillmore Riley’s lawyers have volunteered their time as judges for the competition from its inception. Fillmore Riley’s Wes Burrows, Beth Eva, Cheryl Frost, Dayna Steinfeld, Rachel Loewen, Brynne Thordarson, Keith Senden, Donald Baker, and Ranish Raveendrabose will serve as judges.

“Many students report the experience, especially the insightful feedback they receive from the judges from Fillmore Riley, as being a highlight of their law school experience,” said Dr. Curran. “It is through Fillmore Riley’s generous support of the negotiation competition, both in terms of time and finances, that students have gone on to such success at subsequent inter-school competitions—The Winner of the 2014 Robson Hall competition even won the 2015 International Negotiation Competition in Dublin Ireland!”